Thoughts for My Great-Great Grandma

 

I think about my great-great grandma

just every now and then.

I think about how I never

knew her, yet without

her I couldn’t be.

 

I wonder what my great-great grandma

would have thought

had someone suggested

that she rip my great-grandma

out of her womb

and send her little baby

swimming,

spinning

down the drain.

 

I imagine her feisty

just like me.

A woman of conviction.

Passionate.

Fiery.

 

I think about my great-great grandma

and all the women

who have gone before me.

I am thankful for the chance

to live

to laugh

to hurt

to think,

and I wonder

how a mortal such as I

could be afforded a choice

that would rob another

of the chance to do the same?

~ by Maranda on September 20, 2007.

One Response to “Thoughts for My Great-Great Grandma”

  1. Beautiful.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.shirleybuxton.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
